Lucky Triana’s Last Time

16_-_1 (1)

Sometimes we need to poke humor at ourselves just to stay sane.
Lucky Triana’s “beauty parlour” tanka does this effectively.
a puss caterpillar
passes by
i can’t remember
the last time i went
to a beauty parlour

words and image
© Lucky Triana (Indonesia)

This tanka captures the need for self-image and a little vanity, but builds it all from a cuddly “puss caterpillar” that the poet sees passing by.

Maybe she forgot that her hair is important or maybe she is evolving into a more beautiful night being. If she looks disheveled like the caterpillar does in its latter stages, then perhaps she is going to need that beauty parlor.

I love the touch of mystery that the venomous puss caterpillar image gives us. But touch is something you want to avoid. Perhaps she is too dangerous to touch, but the hair stylist will have to deal with it and that adds another layer of humor.This tanka might be leaning more to kyoka but for now, I’d say, spruce up and go out clubbing this weekend. Soon the night will be all yours as a moth.

Thanks for sharing with us.

– Edwin Lomere (USA)

5 thoughts on “Lucky Triana’s Last Time

  1. My spouse and I stumbled over here by a different web page and thought I should
    check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to looking over your web page for a second time.

    Like

  2. Your style is really unique compared to other
    people I have read stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you have the opportunity,
    Guess I’ll just book mark this web site.

    Like

Leave a comment